Tuesday Post – Week 4

October 19, 2006

I really liked out side conversation about emergent churches. It was really helpful for me to see how theology has changed in these circles over the past 20 years, and how churches are living out the missio dei. I love that the message of Jesus was that the kingdom is now, and that we are invited to participate in God’s work in the world. This purpose seems obvious to me now, but seems to be so lacking in the broader church.

I’ve been talking to different people about the whole missio dei thing. Its hard for me to explain something that seems so central to Jesus’ message to somebody who just doesn’t think that way. I wonder what it looks for these two views to co-exist in one local church body. I have no idea what it looks like to work together for God, while having different ideas of what Christ was proclaiming.

Leave a Reply

