Christmas Parties 2006

December 15, 2006

Hello faithful readers!

This is my first official post where I am not required by my teacher to talk to you people. So here we go. This year my roommie and I are hosting a Holiday Party for my apartment complex. We are super excited.  I dont know any of my neighbors (well, that isn’t completely true since I wave ‘hi’ to the family next door, but that is about it).  Our goal of putting on this party is just to get to know people a little bit. So that when we walk down the hall way we dont have to avert our eyes in awkwardness or that if somebody needed a last minute babysitter, they could drop their kid off with me.  I know it is optimistic, but it is a start. 

It’s a little nerve racking though. Up until now, I could do whatever I wanted, and not care at all what my neighbors think of me. Tomorrow is almost like my coming out party. From here on out, people will look at me and associate my actions with Jesus. Not that I am going to advertise that I’m Christian, but since I work at a church, it comes up a lot.  It’s strange. Not that I screw around a lot or do things that I don’t want people knowing about (most of the time), but it just makes life that much more authentic.  Who I am and how I live matters.  And now people are going to know about it.

I’ll let you know how it goes after I make it through the craziness that is this weekend (this is 1 of 5 parties between now and Monday. yippee)

One Response to “Christmas Parties 2006”

  1. Matt (Mateo) said

    I think its wonderful that you are making an attempt to get to know the people who live around you. I think its this kind of living out your life for God that draws people to God. I am actually impressed with this idea because its quite simple and clever. I know for the past few months you have been stepping out side of your comfort zone and that is hard to be constantly out there. Anyways good luck and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

